I Am Here To Advocate For You

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Drug Charges
  4.  » Can you bring cannabis to South Carolina?

Can you bring cannabis to South Carolina?

On Behalf of | May 2, 2023 | Drug Charges |

The legalization of cannabis (also popularly called marijuana) has been a hot topic in America for the past few years. With more and more U.S. states allowing the recreational use of cannabis, it would seem like it’s only a matter of time until all of America softens its stance on the substance.

But what about South Carolina? A state senate committee earlier this year approved a new bill that would legalize the use of medical marijuana. Does that mean cannabis is okay to use in the Palmetto State?

The short answer: No

Unfortunately, while the bill was approved, cannabis is still illegal in South Carolina as of this blog’s writing. Possession of 1oz or less of cannabis is a misdemeanor that carries a $200 fine, and the violator will be incarcerated for 30 days. Authorities will fine repeat offenders $2,000, and they can face a one-year prison sentence.

The sale and trafficking of cannabis is a felony by South Carolina law. Those charged can face a prison sentence of five to 25 years and must pay a fine between $5,000 and $200,000.

South Carolina has also banned CBD-based vaping and other related paraphernalia.

The long answer: Some exceptions exist

While South Carolina has outlawed cannabis, there are certain exceptions. Hemp that contains less than 0.3% THC – the federal standard – is legal in the state. Doctors can also prescribe to patients with severe epilepsy CBD products with as much as 0.9% THC.

Cannabis is illegal in South Carolina, and you shouldn’t try to bring the substance to the state – unless you really need the medication to treat your ailments. If authorities charge you with possession of cannabis despite using it for medical treatment, consider hiring an attorney that can defend you in court.